The Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner Club

I like my apartment, but definitely the best part of my living situation is my roommate. Not only does she keep me on a healthy sleep schedule which gets me to class at least ten minutes early, but she cooks. And how! From a few servings of chicken, some fresh veggies, sweet n sour sauce, and one lemon (all in all about 2000 ft, about 11 USD), she has made two really simple, sumptuous chicken and vegetable dishes, and nearly the best butternut squash + onions I have ever had (very sweet–next to Thanksgiving squash, of course). Most nights we invite a guest or two over and the food splits nicely between three people. They, as we, have always left satisfied.

But certainly the other highlight for me is breakfast. Coming from the cold cereal end of things, I was at first noncommittal when she wanted to make omlettes for us every other morning. But after the first breakfast (where she used up her Vermont cheddar), there’s no way I can turn this up. I’ve definitely been converted to hot breakfast. Our staples are generally yogurt, bananas, bread, milk, and jam, so that first meal is always extremely satiating and can hold me through 1 p.m. For that, I have no trouble getting out of bed at 7 a.m.

Tomorrow, Brittany and I venture to the szupermarket and to the great market hall (fresh fruit and veggie stands as far as the eye can see, in a giant building that looks like a train station) to prepare for a dinner party we’re hosting for BSM-ers on Friday. [Edit: changed to Saturday. We definitely need more time to shop] What we’re making will be a surprise, but we’re going to attempt to accomodate about 20 people, which will definitely be a feat in our situation (luckily, everyone should bring a non-entree item). But it’s something I’m definitely excited about, especially to showcase my roommate’s cooking and the fresh food here. I’ll probably end up doing more planning than cooking, but hopefully will be able to make a dessert, handle some vegetables, or make some other tiny contribution.

And yes, there is also Hungarian food. Oh man, is there. A typical Hungarian dish consists of lots of meat (good luck to Bridgit who’s a vegetarian) with creamy paprika sauce along with some potatos or side starch. For lunches and quick meals, fast(er)-food Gyros/Turkish places abound. City Gyros, a few blocks from my apartment, and the Turkish corner restaurant near Babilon language school (why don’t I remember the name?) definitely have my loyalty. Besides that, I’ve tried goulash (famous Hungarian meaty soup, quite good), pizza mexicoi (“mexican” pizza a.k.a. crust, red sauce, ham, and corn?), donor, cheesy baguette, and some cabbage and vegetable soup…But, really, the highlight of Hungarian cuisine has been the pastries. Outside the language school is an awesome chain called PrimaPek, but generally there’s a pastry shop within walking distance from any point. For 195 HUF (1 USD), I can get a croissant filled with pizza fixings/nutella/vanilla/ham/cheese. Or a cheesy roll. Or a chocolate bun. Or the famous “Turo Rudi”: frozen chocolate surrounding a stick of sweet cottage cheese. I’ve only tried about two of these items, but there will be opportunity for all. With time. 

We finished dinner a good while ago and topped it off with a glass of wine each, but now there’s food on my mind again. Where did that leftover squash get off to? I’m feeling Hungary.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment